Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Dream job

with 6 comments

This was taken at a Buddhist Temple in Penang.

Utterly delightful – the daydreaming Buddha and the young disciple spending his days bathing him. Very mind-clearing, calming. Something so pleasingly simple about it.

Simple seems so very pleasing at the moment. Not that my life is all that complicated, but it occurs to me that perhaps I make it more complicated than it needs to be…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

18/08/2011 at 12:39 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That does look like a relaxing job. When my life seems to be getting to complicated I take to my bed for a day or 2 and just read or stare out the window. Mr. Husband freaks out, but to me it’s just recharging my batteries.

    Like

    Trinity River

    18/08/2011 at 1:02 am

    • I think bathing the Buddha would be a meditation… the more you do it, the more chilled out you get…

      I think I am due for taking to my bed. I have not done that in years… And I never actually get sick enough (thank goodness!) that I have to… I wonder what would happen if I spent the day in bed? I wonder what would happen if I slept a full 8 hours? Overcharged batteries? Will I be throwing off sparks?

      Like

  2. Simplicity is the door to peace. And, Titi, some people go through life never seeing the door. You are blessed.

    Like

    souldipper

    18/08/2011 at 10:43 am

    • Thank you for the reminder, Ms Dipper… I’m definitely coming right again, whatever ‘right’ actually is… and when I get there I know that burst of creativity will begin to flow again… It really is that simple…

      I think I do need to go bathe the Buddha – metaphorically speaking.

      Like

  3. Wow, the perspective on this shot is amazing. Lovely.

    Like

    poietes

    20/08/2011 at 1:00 pm

    • Thank you Lola! I wanted to post a shot of the whole statue, but it just gets lost – it looks small and the people washing it rather like ants…

      Like


Leave a Reply

