Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

The Lovers

with 8 comments

Firstly, a disclaimer – I do not know these people. I don’t even know if they know each other, or just happened to be standing next to each other when I grabbed this shot. They were simply so beautiful, something so classical about them that inspired my own sense of romance. So heaven forbid they are both happily married to other people and I have cast aspersions on their character… not my intention at all…

But I take the artist’s prerogative to place them in context of my choosing, casting them as idealistic young lovers, bound together but willing to fight to the death for something they believe in. And why not?

I really like this photo – it’s one I am so pleased to have taken, that is, pleased that I am the one that took it…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

10/10/2011 at 10:14 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Striking in the B/W. I’ve wondered about getting permission to photograph folks. Do you ever ask or is it public domain when we are out and about? I missed a shot of a darling little girl in fairy-like water shoes at a hotel swim pool when I was uncomfortable even taking a picture of her dancing feet. Then I didn’t approach her daddy for permission either….curious your thoughts on this. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    11/10/2011 at 12:27 am

  2. It’s a tricky one. Technically, if someone is out in public they are fair game for being photographed – as long as the resulting image is not used to sell a product. But it is ‘legal’ for a photographer to sell the image for editorial use (i.e. to accompany a magazine or news story…) but there is a lot of grey in there as well.

    As much as I would like to always get folks permission – as soon as you get it, they begin ‘posing’ and stop being natural when natural is what you were after in the first place. It is generally not a good idea to photograph children without at least a nod of approval from their parents. They might get angry – and that’s never a good scene… I have better luck getting kid shots than my husband does since women are considered less likely to misuse the images, I suppose… And if I am in Asia, or in a Muslim country, I will ask almost always ask people for permission to photograph them if their faces are going to show. But you may notice that a lot of my shots have faces obscured, slightly out of focus or otherwise unclear.

    Photographers take a lot of heat these days and I have run into a few problems. My husband and I thought we were going to be arrested in Panama taking photos of the yachts parked at the entrance to the canal. There were hundreds, possibly thousands of visitors there with point and shoot cameras, but as soon as they see your big camera and lenses alarm bells go off. We were accused of being spies! Right – a couple of 50-something tourists walking around in the open with our camera gear – some spies. But they kept harrassing us, so we just left. I was also harrassed a bit by the police in New York 2 years ago taking photos down in the financial district (my recent post Hard as Nails is from then). It’s really strange since nearly everyone seems to have an iPhone with a 10 megapix camera on them and can take amazing photos anywhere, anytime…

    Like

  3. Oh, I love this. The story is much more interesting to me if they’re not really together but that’s where your mind puts them. The B/W (or is it sepia?) tones are stunning.

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    11/10/2011 at 11:58 pm

    • We’ll never have the answer… which is also best much of the time since the pondering is usually almost infinitely more intriguing than the reality.

      As for the colouring, I experimented with both b&w and sepia – but the first was too cold and the second seemed to place them in the past…They are actually facing a bazaar-style festival tent selling cheap gifts and jewellery, blindingly lit (where did they get that much juice???) which is why their faces are so beautifully lit. So the sepia kept that warmth… it’s actually a gradient overlay in photoshop which allowed me to capture the best of both!

      Like

  4. Nearly arrested in Panama as spies? I’m sure the espionage folks would be shocked to think any would
    expect them to be so obvious with big lens cameras and all. You two lead an exciting life! I have not located your post Hard as Nails. Where may I view it? Don’t want to miss a thing 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    12/10/2011 at 12:11 am

    • That was our thought exactly! Spies would be discreetly dressed with ignorable gear, slipping in and out of the shadows, not carrying tripods and fussing over lenses and lighting… It was just annoying… but I think there were too many police there and not much policing required… it was the night before our west to east passage through the canal, the only time we were actually on Panamanian soil. I’m pretty sure those police were the only Panamanians we encountered, so I try not to hold it against all of them 😉

      As for Hard as Nails, I posted it on September 11th. It was tricky coming up with something to mark the occasion. It is here. https://titirangistoryteller.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/hard-as-nails/ It’s a view to the Stock Exchange building from one of the narrow side streets.

      Like

  5. I would much rather have my photo taken by someone with a long lens than by a phone with a camera. The camera seems much more secretive; whereas the long lens seems to announce, “This is what I’m doing.”

    Spy? I didn’t know you had another job on the side . . .

    Like

    poietes

    16/10/2011 at 9:49 am

    • Yeah, I decided to get into the spy racket last year, after being made redundant… I needed a little more excitment in my life…

      Like


Leave a Reply

