Twilight in the Garden of Eden

Sorry I’ve been AWOL the last week… funny thing when you commit to a 366 day project… Obviously I take it seriously, since I am in the second year now. This is actually the 457th photo since September 2010 – excluding reruns when I went on holiday and such. And every so often I just have no inspiration – every photo seems flat, lifeless, nothing happening. And when even nothingness can interest me – well, it’s time for a wee chill.

I suppose a bit of the lacklustre-ness of the moment is its sense of a rite of passage with my daughter getting married. Of course I am happy for her and her new husband and the day was wonderful.

But I think for parents, and maybe even moreso for grandparents, it marks a change in the order of things, passing of the torch. As it should be. But one feels one’s oats. One looks in the mirror and a little bit of its magic has worn off. How could so much time have passed so quickly. It does not feel so long ago when I stood on the edge of life, drinking it all in, trying to be brave, trying to be strong, trying to be sure.

It is all good and all right and the way it is supposed to be. It’s life. I guess it’s a ride that you got on somewhere without realising and there’s no getting off until it’s over…

Published by Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

7 thoughts on “Twilight in the Garden of Eden

  1. LOve the soft tones of the picture. I wish I were on a cruise with a stop at a place just like this.
    We have blowing snow, ice covered tree limbs that are weighted down, and gun-metal gray lake water blowing up on our icy shore. Thanks for the reprieve 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh you do need a respite from that bluster! How many months are you into it? If it’s anything all like the Adirondacks, you won’t be really free until middle of May? (It used to snow on my birthday -5th of May- nearly every year)

      I strongly recommend at least a Caribbean or Mexican Riviera cruise for you! Of course if you should decide a down-under cruise would be the ticket, I will make sure your day in Auckland is unforgettable!

      Like

  2. The last bit of innocence creeps by for the one living it and streaks like a comet for the observer. I barely remember the last week before my wedding. I may have been in shock! 🙂

    Like

    1. The less said about my first wedding the better…

      but the second was joyful. I’m pretty sure it was… but it was a blur. And we moved into a new house a week or so before, so there was so much going on – plus guests from the US… oh – it’s all coming back now! Yeah, I’d do it again…

      Like

  3. I, too, have been quite melancholy of late (you now why). The daughter getting married/my daughter being pregnant. It’s all beautiful, but where did the time go? How did I get to this point in my life without doing all of the things that I said that I would do? I’m going to try very hard not to wish away the days while Corey is gone as I’ve sped through too much of my life as it is. Happiness coupled with a sense of something lost. You know?

    Like

    1. Yes, indeed… I know… as we sit on opposite sides of the planet pondering the same things – no doubt often at the same time…

      I truly expected that by now I would be an established, respected writer/novelist. It never occurred to me that I would write books but no one would want to publish them, or that the entire world of publishing could change so dramatically…

      I suppose the only advice for the days that Corey is gone is to plan a bit for the day he returns… everything else is so obvious as to be cliche… – keep busy, visit friends, spend time with the children, etc… Blog more!

      Like

      1. Too true about being on the same wavelength. Your life expectations mirror my own almost exactly, and the observation about the radical change in publishing . . . who knew? I mean, I got that publishing degree right before the entire industry completely evolved into digital and all the rest.

        Yes, I am going to try to do daily blog posts, and not just notes for the duration.

        Like

Leave a comment