Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Pigs are Pigs and that’s that

with 4 comments

P5100251.ORFThis is a true story – about trust and betrayal – about things I believed in that turned out to be the most horrible lies. I put my faith in them – the pigs. They seemed so honest and genuine – asking me so nice if I would do a proper photo shoot of them.

They were upset about all the negativity they’d been receiving since the outbreak of N1H1 flu. They wanted to set the record straight and needed some publicity shots. True, I hadn’t known them long, but the P5140307water buffalo and I go way back and he seemed to think they were on the level.

Since the important thing was improving their stature, they wanted something that would make them look a little more imposing. I tried to explain that they wouldn’t look imposing one on top of the other if I took it from above – but they insisted, and wanted it in sepia – going for that classic look.

After a little consultation, they decided my lighting was all wrong – and they brought in some lighting experts of their own. I just waited around, hanging onto the tripod, sipping cups of cold coffee.

P5140324.ORF

At last they were ready and I went for it.

And went for it again:

P5140330

This really wasn’t going well. None of the shots were any good. I admit it. They didn’t come up to my usual standard. But I had never done something like this before, it was new to me.

P5140341.ORFBut the pigs didn’t seem to want to listen to me. Sure they were still polite to my face, but I could tell they were saying unkind things behind my back.

But then they gathered round the fire and began speaking in low growls and grunts, consulting with the hippo and the warthog in a language I couldn’t understand. I felt a chill go down my spine. That warthog has always been a troublemaker – why did I let him into the lounge with the others? How could I have been such a fool?

P5140358.ORFSuddenly the lights went out! The hippo let a shriek rip – tearing from his throat like a banshee, followed by the warthog’s screech and I could barely see the littlest pig making for me.

I scrambled to my feet and with my heart pounding, raced for the light. I flicked it on, but it was too late. Fortunately, I had the remote in my hand and was able to get this shot of them on the attack!

 

P5140364.ORF

The doctor tells me it will be months before I am able to walk again, after months of therapy.

I’m upstairs. Away from the pigs. My hubby’s been bringing me my soup and my medicine. I’m feeling a bit better, but, but… I’ll never ever, as long as I live, trust pigs again! And I’ll never photograph another one! They’re ruthless and cruel and and and…

they’re pigs! And that’s that!

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

21/07/2009 at 10:15 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice wooden animals , awesome photography , good job , keep it up.

    Like

    globalinternational

    21/07/2009 at 10:52 pm

    • Thanks – I think it’s all a bit goofy, to be honest, but thank you! I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t know how to stop!
      Cheers, V

      Like

      titirangistoryteller

      21/07/2009 at 11:05 pm

  2. It’s good that you are going away for a quiet rest. I should think that the dreams must be the worst part. Still pigs don’t like sea water.

    Like

    Boyofbow

    23/07/2009 at 4:11 am

    • These pigs are from Vanuatu. I acquired them there last year after a cyclone…

      Fortunately, much of where I am going to is primarily Muslim… pigs will find themselves quite unwelcome there as well…

      Like

      titirangistoryteller

      23/07/2009 at 7:25 am


Leave a Reply

