Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Tree in winter

with 5 comments

Island Tree

One of the things I’ve noticed over the years – I love photographing cold, naked trees. I admire their dignity, their stalwart stance in the face of all those frigid dark months, catching brief glimpses of a faded sun. They are so very beautiful. And somehow, a bit accusing, a bit threatening. They’re not happy at all.

This tree, towering from its little island in the middle of a little pond, keeps watch over a stretch of lang along the Clutha River. It doesn’t miss a thing.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

05/07/2013 at 1:51 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “If trees could speak,” I tell myself as we travel, “what incredible stories they’d share.” I, too, am in awe of these wondrous living things.

    Like

    Deli Lanoux, Ed.D.

    05/07/2013 at 2:06 am

  2. I love all of the shadows in this. Have you tried it in black and white?

    Like

    poietes

    06/07/2013 at 6:30 am

    • No – I will give it a go though (as soon as I get caught up – I have literally thousands of photos waiting for me… and I keep making more.)

      And while I do like black and white and it certainly is an excellent means of capturing winter’s bleakness, I also have an odd fondness for winter’s ‘death palette’ washed out, dirty hues of faded greenery, greys and muddy shades of brown…

      Like

  3. The cold, naked trees are my beloved too. They look like the alive symbols, like the revived giants from the fairy tales… the naked branches give us their hand of support- enable the viewers to endure and thus encourage us on our travel. Thank you for the post and the talking photo.

    Like

    Tomas Karkalas

    06/07/2013 at 10:47 pm


Leave a Reply

