Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

A Day at the Races

with 3 comments

Horses-234

 

Went to the horse races today – something I’ve been meaning to do for ages. So I could photograph them. I’ve never been much of a horse-y person (and that are, well, they just are). And I don’t gamble. But I do recall going when I was quite small. My mother loved the races. And gambling small amounts on the horses. But mostly I think she loved the dressing up…

But half a century down the road and TAB and ATB (etc) and going to the track isn’t really all that glamorous… I was probably one of the best-dressed women there – and I was wearing trainers. Jut not the crowds there used to be. But that said, it was great fun. The horses were wonderful, the races exciting and I took a hell of a lot of photos… so many, I’m having a play with black and white and sepia…

Here’s 1-2-3… more tomorrow…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

26/02/2013 at 1:34 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They still do the big hats and clothes at the Derby.

    Like

    poietes

    08/03/2013 at 10:32 am

    • I’m sure they do. And one of these days, I hope to do that. But this was nothing like that. Nothing at all. Could be partly that NZ is so laid back and no can be bothered dressing up to go to the track, but I think it’s more that going to the track just isn’t what it used to be. Unless it’s derby day…

      I remember my mother and stepfather #1 going to the track, all dressed to the nines – for a fabulous evening out. Just to the trotters in Saratoga – I think they ran on Tuesday nights… They wouldn’t let her in once because she was wearing pants – actually it was around 1969 – I think it was a long, flowing silky jumpsuit with huge legs… paisley – pink purple and green. Would love to have that now…

      Like


Leave a Reply

