Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

And now for something a little different…

with 8 comments

ElvisC-94 Elvis Costello was in town tonight – one of my favourites since the 70’s… and the regular photographer for local music website couldn’t make it, so I filled in and grabbed a few shots. Possibly the worst conditions ever – no pit – I had to stand at the edge of the seats by the 1st 3 rows – one angle only… so not much of his band… but I rather like this shot. I wouldn’t mind doing some more of this!

Here’s a link to the review of the show and a gallery of the photos.

http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/concert-reviews/elvis-costello-the-civic-theatre-january-19-2013/#

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

20/01/2013 at 12:54 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a cool gig! I hope he played “Allison” — love that song!

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    20/01/2013 at 1:33 am

    • Yeah – did a brilliant version of Allison (and 28 other songs.) Did not do Veronica, though, which I didn’t expect as it was not a melancholy set. I hope I can scrounge up a few more of these… It would be fun to do on a semi-regular basis. Not every night though… my party days are a bit behind me now…

      Like

  2. Oooo I love Elvis Costello! and nothing wrong withn this shot.. If you remember I did some “stage” photography when I went to the One Love Festival last summer and loved it!

    Like

    Helen Cherry

    20/01/2013 at 7:35 am

    • I do recall! It really is fun – and since you have a short time frame – it’s not physically exhausting like say… weddings… Though since I was out shooting for 4 hours in middle of the day and then last night – I am seriously knackered!

      Like

  3. Love Elvis Costello. Love “Allison” and “Veronica,” both great songs.

    Like

    poietes

    10/02/2013 at 7:25 am

    • Never forget the first time he was on Saturday Night Live – knocked my socks off, but I wasn’t sure if he was a genuine performer or comedy act. The whole Buddy Holly look without the Buddy Holly demeanour confused me…

      Like

      • Same thing for me. I couldn’t figure out if the glasses were a schtick.

        Like

        poietes

        10/02/2013 at 10:30 am


Leave a Reply

