Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Akaroa Fascination

with 5 comments

Akaroa -Orange rose

I had to look it up – the meaning of the orange rose… fascination, attraction, falling in love… This particular rose is irresistible and just about perfect. And I am rather enamoured of its little friend, who is obviously attracted and possibly fascinated…

I shot this in Akaroa, a port town on the South Island about an hour away from Christchurch (more or less.) It’s rather a resort town now, but back in the day it was the first major settlement on the south island. The French had the idea of setting up a colony there and claiming the south island for France. Obviously that did not go according to plan – but Akaroa is an exceptionally charming town with a distinct French flavour. The main part of town is full of lovely old cottages, mostly well maintained, with amazing amazing gardens… All I really wanted to do was photograph the flowers. But I did manage to tuck into a few shops, buy a new hat, eat a few of the local delights… Sure, I took photos of the buildings and the water and snagged one of a Maori performance troupe just finishing up when I arrived. But really, when I think ‘Akaroa’ this is what I think of…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

29/12/2012 at 10:27 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Similar to the roses we had for our wedding 40 years ago. No wonder đŸ™‚

    Like

    Happy Daze

    31/12/2012 at 1:33 pm

  2. Beautiful. Love the little ant on the right.

    Like

    poietes

    01/01/2013 at 8:29 am

    • What always gets me is that I did not notice the ant when I took the photo. If I had, I would have gone in closer as I now have a proper macro lens, which I used to photograph the flower and tried to et a couple of him in action. And then, of course, as soon as I processed the image it was obviously there…

      Like

      • I was wondering if you had noticed the ant. Tee hee.

        Like

        poietes

        01/01/2013 at 6:00 pm


Leave a Reply

