Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Black Hole

with 12 comments

Yes – I’ve discovered a black hole just down the way at Muriwai Beach… Yeah, I’ve got to get back there soon and get a hell of a lot closer – see what’s really going on. Hard to get a sense of perspective, but that hole is at least a couple of metres across and shooting geysers 3-4 metres high. Someone fell in a couple of months ago (epic fail!) and was lucky to be alive by the time rescue was able to get to him.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

28/10/2012 at 9:08 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Please post follow up…

    Like

    Lindy Lee

    31/10/2012 at 12:25 am

  2. Not too close though !!

    Like

    Helen Cherry

    05/11/2012 at 12:35 am

    • Another one fell in yesterday! He was fishing and fell in. Fortunately, his companion was able to lower his fishing pole down and he grabbed it and was able to get out. Just in time as there was a massive wave that geysered 4-5 metres high that would have bashed him to his death, just after. The last luckless sod died.

      So the Council is going to water blast the rocks (which are covered with sea goo) and put up signs… sad that people can be that stupid… it’s obviously bloody dangerous. If you don’t fall in from leaning over, a geyser could knock you in, and if it doesn’t the receding waters in the image above can make you slip and fall and drag you in… Oi!

      I’m going to go back in a few weeks. Hopefully gannet hatchlings will be plentiful then, too…

      Like

  3. This is intriguing. But why do people have to be so stupid?

    Like

    poietes

    20/12/2012 at 9:15 am

    • they just can’t help it, I guess… That said, I’ve a tendency to be a bit reckless which scare the bejesus out of my very safety conscious husband… but I would NOT go for a walk on that big rock at high tide! Low tide might be another story…

      Like

      • Once I climbed onto some rocks abutting some falls on a trail because I wanted to get a good shot. My family was aghast, but I got the picture I wanted.

        Like

        poietes

        28/12/2012 at 1:49 pm

      • Exactly – I don’t know where the line is though between taking a calculated risk to achieving the desired outcome and being a complete idiot… However, I have managed to stay out of the idiot zone, at least most of the time…

        Like

      • When I did it, it didn’t occur to me that it might be dangerous. I was certain I could do it without incurring any injury, and I did. Of course, I was lots more agile then . . .

        Like

        poietes

        28/12/2012 at 4:34 pm

      • Oh the things we did back when we could do them!

        Like


Leave a Reply

