Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Hey, bud!

with 4 comments

I am endlessly fascinated by the palm tree. Though it is pretty standard in warm climates, I originated from a very cold climate and rarely saw an actual palm other than on television. And come to think of it, since we didn’t get a TV until I was 14 and my brother refused to let anyone else watch without his permission (he kept a loaded BB gun on his lap to enforce this policy) I’m not sure I saw any there, either. Other than a couple of forays to Florida, which involved more theme parks and contrived attractions than actually exploring the landscape, I didn’t really get up close and personal with a palm until I arrived in New Zealand.

The first time I saw a bloom, it was laying on the ground and I could not figure out what it was or where it came from. Later I saw them sprouting from the sides of the trunk and made the connection. This here is a bud in the late afternoon sun. It’s rather enormous, at least half a metre (20 inches). I just love everything about it…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

13/09/2012 at 11:36 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is gorgeous. I had no idea that palms had blooms that looked like that.

    Like

    Anna Sthetic

    23/09/2012 at 11:56 pm

  2. Very Georgia O’Keeffe in its shape. I’ve never seen a palm bud before either.

    Like

    poietes

    09/10/2012 at 3:25 am

    • I guess the coconuts and bananas get all the glory… When I was younger I was intrigued by Georgia O’Keefe, and I recall seeing the play Alfred Stieglitz Loves O’Keefe and became rather fond of Stieglitz as well. But then, I’ve always been fascinated by great love stories… no wonder then I had to have one of my own 😉

      Like


Leave a Reply

