Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Orchid8

with 10 comments

Jeez – I hate missing out on being here so many days in a row, but it’s been a bit full on lately.

Went to the  winter show of the Auckland Orchid Society yesterday… I have been to various flower and garden shows over the years, but nothing quite like this… and I don’t think I’ve ever taken a photo of a flower quite like this… I’m pretty pleased with myself… What do you think?

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

22/07/2012 at 10:14 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Super! Universe becoming!
    My mum grows orchids – there are levels…beyond one of these levels, you’re playing with sophisticated forces of beauty and time.

    Like

    kolembo

    23/07/2012 at 5:11 am

    • OH yes! I had no idea, but one of the fun things about the show – we went after it had closed to the public (you can’t have 20+ photographer with tripods and other gear tripping up the punters) and the orchidologists (why not?) were so friendly and full of interesting facts they were dying to share… did you know orchids are the 3rd largest plant species – after grasses (diminishing) and roses? I thought they were a bit on the rare side…

      Like

      • Hahaha…yes, they’re a strange bunch eh! And so eager to share…it’s the relationship they have with their plants – very intense. You write so funny, I’m right there with you dropping the reflector!

        Like

        kolembo

        23/07/2012 at 11:11 pm

  2. I’m not a huge fan of orchids but this is glorious!

    Like

    Helen Cherry

    23/07/2012 at 6:10 am

    • Thank you, Helen… these flowers were just incredible – and this was shot in available light – a mix of who know what… flowers seem to have some kind of magical radiance I think… they transcend bad lighting. Unlike Kites… I also went to a festival where people were flying some of the most amazing kites in the world – and all the pictures were terrible because the light was impossibly bad… took over 200 shots and not a single one made me smile…

      Like

  3. I love it. It looks so beautiful that it’s hard to believe it’s real.

    Like

    Trinity River

    24/07/2012 at 2:45 am

    • The orchid society is hosting a competition – decisions, decisions – which one will win the prize? (I don’t even know what the prize is, but that doesn’t matter in the world of photography, just that you win an award, so you can describe yourself as an award winning photographer!)

      Like

  4. I love orchids, but find them very intimidating. To grow them properly, you must have a long, devoted love affair with them. But this is a stunning shot. Very impressive.

    Like

    poietes

    06/08/2012 at 9:53 am

    • About 15 years ago I was living in a flat that had flower boxes lining the driveway and they were full of hardy, gorgeous orchids. My husband, who was a florist in one of his previous incarnations, said they quite liked bad soil and a healthy dose of neglect… at least the wilder varieties. Some of the hybrids seem so very very fragile…

      Like


Leave a Reply

