Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Remembering Spring

with 7 comments

Tomorrow, 5th of May, Cinco de Mayo, is my birthday. While I have lived in the southern hemisphere for 18 years now, I have never got used to having my birthday in the Autumn. Whilst we did have a sprinkling of snow on the ground a few times when we lived in the mountains of upstate New York, generally speaking, my birthday was accompanied by tulips and daffodils, blossoming fruit trees and the return of Red Robin. It’s one of the few things I really, truly miss.

On the other hand, I have a rather ferocious allergy to flowers. I’m less likely to be overcome by an allergy attack here!

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

04/05/2012 at 11:38 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is an interesting post =)

    Like

    ishooteditnblog

    05/05/2012 at 2:54 am

  2. Have a full bloomin’, blowsy birthday just like your gorgeous picture here! Luv how the light makes the flowers look almost translucent. All the BEST 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    06/05/2012 at 1:12 am

  3. Sorry I missed your birthday. The picture is lovely, but as you’re allergic to flowers, perhaps it’s best that you are now in autumn instead of spring.

    Like

    poietes

    10/05/2012 at 8:28 am

    • In the autumn, there is the pollen from weeds… and the mould spores… always something for those suffering from those kinds of allergies… still, it could be worse… since they are under control, there are merely annoying. I am still astonished though at the number of people who give me flowers that know better…

      Like

      • Sorry about the allergies. You can’t live in a bubble, though, and explore the world, which you are so good at doing.

        Like

        poietes

        10/05/2012 at 9:38 am

      • I love with them. And allergies are the sort of thing that blur the line between physical and metal so easily… I can almost guarantee if I am way over-stressed that I will get a major attack and be out of commission for several days. When life is running at a reasonably logical and somewhat sane pace I can take an allergy tablet every other day, or even once or twice a week and motor on…

        Like


Leave a Reply

