Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

At all

with 6 comments

Some ruins of a 14th century church out in the back end of the Scottish Highlands. The people moved or were moved away, this was left behind.

If there is no fight, no ongoing battle to keep her from claiming the things that escape, that we raise up over her – Mother Earth comes for them. She comes with quiet hands and carries it all off, back from whence it came. We move too fast to notice and then turn around, stunned at what has happened. That’s her way. She always wins, sometimes leaving seemingly careless traces of what has gone. We treasure them, lay our hopes in their eternal glow. She’s toying with us. They are not symbols of hope, but reminders of how much has gone, and so, how much more will go. All of it. Everything. As if it never were. At all.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

29/04/2012 at 1:52 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Intriguing and creepy in more ways than one! The old saying….”If walls could talk.” You do get around 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    04/05/2012 at 1:13 am

    • I try, last year this time I was in Malaysia, in the Cameron Highlands. I remember exactly cos tomorrow is my birthday and that’s where I was for my birthday. The past year has been quiet for travel though – busy with other things… How was your trip?

      Like

  2. I love this photograph. I’m not sure if I remember you posting any other Scottich highlands images, but it’s one of my favorite places.

    Like

    poietes

    10/05/2012 at 8:34 am

    • From time to time one shows up. I was there in pre-SLR days, with my 3.1 mega-pixel Sony camera. And I did get some good shots with it.

      As for the Scottish Highlands I was in love. And I will get back there. One of my ‘big rocks’ that I have not yet knocked off is to spend at least a week in Jura, where George Orwell wrote 1984, and which finally him. Note, I would prefer to be there in the (alleged) Scottish summer… I know Orwell is considered politically outre these days, but he remains on of my two favourite writers. (The other is Tom Robbins…)

      Like

      • I love Orwell, used several of his pieces when teaching English. Nothing compares to his essay “A Hanging” for illustrating narrative power and setting in an essay.

        I only saw a bit of Scotland, and that was as a wee lass. Would love to go back now.

        Like

        poietes

        10/05/2012 at 9:01 am

      • I actually fell in love with Orwell in my late 30’s. Even though I had read Animal House and 1984 in school and his essays since, it was when I first moved here that he really ‘came to me’ in the way that favourite artists of any kind do, reflecting back to you exactly what it is you need to see… Keep the Aspidistra Flying was one of those books. And I can’t say it’s his best or even highly recommend it (though I want to). It was just the right book in the right moment.

        Like


Leave a Reply

