Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Step Inside

with 4 comments

Yeah, I’ve been AWOL… for a week! Holy Christmas… Busy with work and then opted for a long weekend out of town, went down to Hamilton, about an hour and a half south of Auckland. Very pleasant little city with a reputation for dullness that I found rather undeserved. Stayed at a little farm stay, so had a chance to commune with a few young steer and other livestock. Tooka tonne of photos, but really just got to developing them a bit tonight.

This one here is really just an advert for the new Picasa 3 upgrade. It’s got all sorts of fancy little filters and toys to play with, I am really quite enamoured. One click to get all sorts of Photoshop-like effects. No, it’s not as good as Photoshop – nothing is, I think. But few people will ever learn Photoshop – it’s so bloody complicated. It took me a full year of using it every day before I felt like I had a handle on it and it’s only now I can make it do what I intend from the outset. And it costs $1500 NZ, I think around $1000US, which is a bloody lot of money for a bit of software few people really need.

Picasa 3 on the other hand, is completely free. From Google. You can do a bit of retouching, zhoozhing, sharpening, and now add frames and filters and vignetting and blurs and all sorts of goodies. And even backs up your original so you can do it all sorts of different ways… I liked the old Picasa – but I just love the new Picasa!

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

03/04/2012 at 1:37 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, I want to step on in and take a walk on the lovely grass at this farm. You are so good to try new things and they turn out great!

    Like

    Happy Daze

    03/04/2012 at 2:26 am

    • I was picture perfect, I must say. And just a wonderful little getaway. I love the bush and the mountains, but there is also something magnificent about a lush farm in the flatlands.

      As for trying new things, I do highly recommend you give Picasa a go. Price is right, effects are great, you don’t destroy your originals by playing around with them. I could have done this in Photoshop – it would have taken 10-15 minutes (with 3 years experience) and took me about 5 in Picasa, trying it the first time out. I love fiddling just to see what happens…

      Like

  2. Okay, I’ll have to try Picasa once I get my computer up and running, but I am a Photoshop devotee, even though I know that it still has so many features that I am completely oblivious to, but this shot with the filters is really a good example.

    Like

    poietes

    07/04/2012 at 5:15 am

    • Oh, I am not about to give up on Photoshop! It’s my favourite piece of software of all time. But for folks who would like to play with their images and get some cool effects, Picasa is simply brilliant! You can’t do layers with it, which will always be the dealbreaker for me, but you can do several effects on top of each other. And there are options within each effect, so you really can come up with a particular style of your own if you are so inclined.

      This one would not have come out any different had I done it in Photoshop – a bit of radial blur on the outer edges, followed up with a slight vignette and it was good to go… oh, and the borders are one-click simple in Picasa… I used to make them all the time in Photoshop, but can’t be bothered any more…

      Like


Leave a Reply

