Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Up Up and Away…

with 9 comments

Couldn’t resist the title… always hated that 5th Dimension song, though.

I promise to edit these in earnest tomorrow… if I have time… just so busy at the beginning of the month…

This is another play with the filters in Picasa 3. Gave it a sixties tarnish with a bit of a vignette. It sort of fits, as ballooning really has not changed much in quite a while. As you can see from the long shadows, this is just after dawn – a perfect day for hot air balloons – and we were able to get up close and personal with them.

Maybe next year I will go for a ride in one. Can’t say it’s always been a dream of mine. And they were $300pp for 45 minutes, which isn’t an amount I’d drop without a bit of forethought… I might just be happier watching other people go… on the other hand, it would be a rush, I am sure. And just think of the photos I would take!

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

03/04/2012 at 11:36 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Go up! You’ll love it! Riding with the wind, there is no sound or sense of movement. It is so peaceful!

    Like

    Gwenna Hendrix (on Lockewood Place in SFSD)

    04/04/2012 at 1:02 am

  2. Fabulous picture. I’ve always wanted to go for a balloon ride 🙂

    Like

    Trinity River

    04/04/2012 at 1:24 am

    • Well, I suppose if you haven’t done it either… I don’t feel so bad. Shall we meet up in New Mexico one year and try it together???

      Like

      • It’s a date! Lemme know I’ll be there. Or come here and we’ll do a road trip. Yee haa!

        Like

        Trinity River

        06/04/2012 at 3:26 am

      • Seriously – fingers crossed for next year! I was hoping to get my wild west trip this year, but it ain’t going to happen. I couldn’t stay retired… grrrrrrrrrrrr

        Like

      • you couldn’t stay retired?? hee hee. Ok next year. 🙂

        Like

        Trinity River

        07/04/2012 at 2:21 am

  3. It does look like a vintage photo with the tones. You should go so that I can continue to live vicariously through your adventures.

    Like

    poietes

    07/04/2012 at 5:13 am

    • Well, as I said to Trinity, it ain’t going to be this year. Next month I am making my annual pilgrimage to Wanaka, on the South Island. Too early for snow in May… I’m hoping for Christmas in Shanghai – or at least a nice little cruise…

      Like


Leave a Reply

