Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Dancer on the beach

with 6 comments

Just a quick one tonight… Went to Piha Beach this evening to shoot the sunset and a dancer who came to dance for a group of photographers. Sadly, she got lost on the way so we didn’t get to shoot her in the best light. I did get some nice stuff though and am especially fond of this impressionist shot.

Quite a long exposure with another photographer’s flash throwing a bit of light on her in the middle of the exposure. She was a wonderful dancer – but it occurs to me she looks a bit unsteady on her feet – like a wave might come and sweep her away.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

10/03/2012 at 11:21 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a wimsical picture. Iove it.

    Like

    Trinity River

    11/03/2012 at 12:33 am

  2. Unsteady? But she’s actually riding the waves, dancing on the water… Pure poetry…

    Like

    sifrim

    11/03/2012 at 1:05 am

    • Oh thank you… it really was a difficult shoot. I spent the day going through my shots and summarily deleted more than half. On the upside though… the good ones were really really good. Can’t ask for more than that!

      Like

  3. I love how the waves meld with her body. It’s a great shot.

    Like

    poietes

    11/03/2012 at 8:44 am

    • Thanks.

      I think you’ll enjoy the others, too. Not having a flash turned out to be a real blessing. Some of the other attendees posted their photos on line. I don’t like to compare my work to other people’s – always makes me feel a bit ick – so it’s not a question of patting myself on the back – but the photos with flash were so flat – direct flash just kills depth and nuance. And if I had had a flash, I would have used it. But the flash I want for my camera costs nearly a grand, which I don’t have at the moment, what with daughter getting married and buying a house and and and… and really – I don’t need it…

      Like


Leave a Reply

