Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Last stop

with 5 comments

Phrases like ‘end of the line’ and ‘last stop’ imply a more extensive finality. In reality, this is my little bus shelter just up the road from my house. It’s the last stop – the nightmare run for beginning drivers with hairpin turns down the twisty mountain road. I had one Maori woman driver break into tears one day – I was the last passenger and it was her first time on her own.

The road is quite narrow and for some unknown reason they run a full size city bus down here. Other cars and pedestrians blanch in fear when they see a massive bus approaching. And I’ve been terrified being a passenger in both car and bus. As for being a pedestrian – I rather like that the bus driver seeing me walk will often stop and ask if I want a ride the rest of the way down the hill.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

04/02/2012 at 11:48 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Scary! Probably it’s even dicey walking…knowing vehicles are uncomfortable.

    Like

    souldipper

    05/02/2012 at 10:11 am

    • It is, or seems to be… even though Kiwi drivers are pretty awful, there are few accidents on this road – though lots and lots of near misses. We do have footpaths, so narrow though I don’t think they really count – I have fretted about being sideswiped by a car mirror, with no place really to go other than down a steep drop into the bush…

      notice the yellow lines on the road? They are brand, spanking new – as if dividing the one lane road into two would make it wider – or something…

      Like

  2. Sounds like Frost’s “The Road Not Taken,” literally and figuratively!

    Like

    Deli Lanoux, Ed.D.

    07/02/2012 at 5:30 am

  3. Reminds me of being on a bus in the Philippines going up the mountains to Baguio. Even though I was quite young, I was old enough to be scared.

    Like

    poietes

    09/02/2012 at 12:19 pm


Leave a Reply

