Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Peacock travesty

with 8 comments

Had a bit of a play with this gypsy caravan. I like it better this way.

I don’t think the gypsies living in it were real gypsies, not that I’ve ever known any real gypsies, so I can’t say for sure. But they seemed more like some folks I knew back in the 70s, who somehow never managed to apply their ideals and world view to the world the rest of us that managed the application transition process ended up living in.

I wonder if this beast is the equivalent of driving a Lexus. Not that I know anyone that drives a Lexus, either… hmmm…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

18/01/2012 at 12:51 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lol, I really like this.

    Like

    Nae's Nest

    18/01/2012 at 5:08 am

  2. This one made me laugh!

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    19/01/2012 at 2:05 am

  3. This is gorgeous! I will probably live in a van when I retire. I might not wait that long. Ultimate freedom. Just up and go to where the job is.

    Like

    Monica McLaughlin

    19/01/2012 at 7:30 am

    • I am torn between loving having a home to be ‘secure’ in and longing to be free of the responsibility… having a patch of my own always wins, though… but I sure do love getting away… I have not been on a month-long escape for nearly 2 years now… after ten years of at least one per year, it seems so very odd… but now is not the time… the time will come again. I’m patient

      Like

  4. The idea of traveling in a caravan does seem a bit romantic, that is until there is no room to pass one another.

    What a colorful behemoth.

    Like

    poietes

    25/01/2012 at 12:37 pm

    • My ex and I spent two weeks in a caravan traversing the south island. Honestly, I thought it was absolutely awful – no getting away from each other, no mental or physical space. Plus, he loved to drive 8-10 a day and see everything whizz past. Me, I’m a park myself for 3-4 days minimum sort of person – see a little bit more deeply that the whole thing as a blur…

      Maybe for a weekend or so, but definitely no longer than that!

      Like


Leave a Reply

