Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

If I were in Mumbai again

with 3 comments

Not sure what brought this on… I certainly would not mind being in Mumbai again. But this girl is no more in Mumbai than I am. I snapped her a couple of years ago performing at a festival commemorating Indian independence – at a race track in Avondale, a suburb not far from where I live.

As she danced, the glooming skies split and pelted her with driving rain, so by the end she was soaked. But she carried on. I am sure she wished she was in Mumbai too, which is what compelled me to place her here, on a leafy street outside a public park in the heart of Mumbai.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

10/01/2012 at 10:49 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a Page set up for all who signed up HERE for the Project 365 Challenge A LIST OF (Participants so far)!  ♥Thank You all♥
    If you have not signed up it’s not too late – I created a INLINKZ on my sidebar I will check daily.

    If anyone has any questions please go to the tab that says CONTACT and you will be able to email me any questions you may have.

    Like

    Jackie Paulson

    11/01/2012 at 12:36 am

  2. What a gift to be able to transport someone to a totally different world! She looks like she belongs here. The vivid red with black is so striking with only the red symbols for accent. Mumbai on your mind for sure!
    Wish I could hear the music 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    11/01/2012 at 2:34 am

    • Your wish is my command! It’s a song called Kajra Re (Your Kohl-lined Eyes) and is from a Bollywood movie called Bunty Aur Babli. Though she is lipsynching, not actually singing, it is performed by the stunningly beautiful Aishwarya Rai. It was a huge hit in India. And can watch/listen to it here… http://youtu.be/cazLqUA-o9w

      While my western ears don’t really embrace Indian music, this song is very westernised. I used it as the soundtrack to a short video presentation I made with the photos from that shoot… I’d love to hear what you think of it. My husband absolutely loathed it, but by the end of the project, I was humming it while I washed the dishes…

      Like


Leave a Reply

