Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

The goddess to my left

with 4 comments

She was given to me as rather a gag-gift before I went to India a couple of years ago – a bobbing head Indian woman sitting cross-legged, grinding a silver mortar and pestle.

I don’t know if she is in poor taste or not – but she sits to my left all day every day and I have come to love her expression of patience, love and forbearance.

And somehow, even though I have looked at her easily a thousand times, today is the first time I ever noticed the tear streaming from her right eye…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

03/01/2012 at 11:28 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s a lot of emotion captured in her.

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    04/01/2012 at 5:36 am

  2. I find that rather amazing – usually kitsch, no matter where it originates from – plays to sentimentality or cuteness. This is an unusually subtle expression for any doll. Makes me wonder about the talents of the mould maker – or perhaps it was cast from a sculpture…

    Like

  3. The tear! Oh my, that is a stunning detail that would be easy to overlook.

    Like

    poietes

    25/01/2012 at 12:48 pm

    • I’ve had her for a couple of years, and despite my belief that I am a stickler for detail it passed me by… no more though

      Like


Leave a Reply

