Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

The Gazebo

with 6 comments

The gazebo in the moonlight… how romantic… or… actually, I always thought they were a bit spooky at night, a bit chilling. The monsters could definitely get you with no trouble. Zombies, mummies, werewolves, and of course both Dracula and Frankenstein.

The first time I ever heard the word pronounced was in an old movie I don’t recall the name of. And the actress called it a ga-zay’-bow… and I just loved the sound of that, how it filled up my mouth and rolled off my tongue. Try it – you’ll never go back to boring old ga-zee-bow.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

27/11/2011 at 10:24 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Filling my mouth and my eyes. I’ve only seen them in sunshine and thought of weddings, bands on the lawn and children playing hide & seek. Thanks for the new way to look 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    29/11/2011 at 3:17 am

    • I’m voting a gazebo as one of the worst places to hide in hide and seek! I small child could find you even easier then Frankenstein could!

      Like

  2. Funny! I was picturing hiding on the opposite sound and outside the ga zay bow…my Boo Boo~!
    Maybe Zsa Zsa Gabor?

    Like

    Happy Daze

    29/11/2011 at 12:19 pm

    • Could be. I was fairly young and I am sure it was on tv in someone else’s house. Black and white. grainy, scratchy… could have been Zsa Zsa… or perhaps Eva – was there ever a gazebo in Green Acres???

      Like

  3. Ga-zay-bow has a definite southern flair, if you ask me. No gazebos in Green Acres that I can recall. I’ve always wanted one of these, but of course, would need enough property on which to place one.

    Like

    poietes

    05/12/2011 at 9:45 pm

    • Yeah – even the small ones wouldn’t quite fit in your typical back garden… a porch is a lot more efficient.. But you know… if you had one – what would you do with it – really???

      Like


Leave a Reply

