Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

no left turn

with 10 comments

Seems sometimes the places you just can’t get to are the most appealing. And you’ve to wonder what would change if you could. This is an NYC subway station.

Day 3 of the NaNoWriMo. A wee bit ahead on the word count. A wee bit confounded at what’s coming out onto the page. I had deliberately not outlined a plot or thought too much about characters. I wanted it to be a real, in-the-moment piece. After all, it’s essentially a 30-day exercise, so why not try a technique that’s untried and its true-ness has not been verified?

Fortunately I am a most excellent typist as I find most of this is being written with my eyes closed. I think best with my eyes closed – I think most people do. How many brilliant ideas have you got in the shower, or in those quiet moments after you’ve gone to bed, but not yet fallen asleep? I’m pretty sure this is not brilliant, but it might be going someplace interesting…

Hmmm… 5000 words, 10% of the way there!

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

04/11/2011 at 1:00 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOve the reflection and tones of this one. On the subject of No Left Turn….My husband & I visited Winnipeg years ago. I was driving and found myself at an intersection with “No Left Turn” and had to figure out another way. It felt like a full minute I was stuck but probably a few seconds is all. And I was so impressed not one driver honked their horn, gestured or showed any impatience. They simply all waited until I figured it out and on around the traffic circle we went. Gotta love those Canadians 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    04/11/2011 at 1:14 am

    • Thank you, Happy…

      As ofr your no left turn encounter… take that a step further to driving on the other side of the road (as we do here in NZ) and you have an idea why I no longer drive anywhere… I truly get too confused too often to feel comfortable driving, like my instincts have been tampered with. Last time I drove I made a left hand turn right into oncoming traffic – did not have an accident, but that was my last straw, 12 years ago. Have not missed it even once.

      Like

  2. Thankful you were unscathed!! I think middlessence is a time our spatial abilities get combobulated 😉
    I drive everyday and many miles and really have to pay attention. Part of it is my progressive bi-focals added to the tinted windshield and then distortion with a mirror or two that is also tinted….whew! Plus we have deer all over our area and they decide to run into us! Keep riding and taking those great photos!

    Like

    Happy Daze

    05/11/2011 at 1:35 am

    • Yeah, I was 43 then, just entering that time… on the other hand, the right/left side of the road thing is very dangerous… and not just for middlers… most people are aware of it when they cross the road – for the first half of the street, but relax for the second half when cars are STILL coming from the other way… they forget for that tiny split second and step out in front of an oncoming car without looking. I am deeply paranoid crossing streets for fear that the moment I forget to be vigilant I might regress to my native instincts…

      And yes, being a passenger leaves both hands and both eyes free to be on the constant lookout for things that need to be seen and captured!

      Like

  3. Love the image. Impressed that it’s a NY subway.

    Glad to hear that you type with your eyes closed. Thought I was the only strange one who did that.

    Like

    poietes

    06/11/2011 at 7:02 am

    • Many of the stations in Manhattan are very beautiful, always have been and you can find fabulous art nouveau and deco bits. They did really suffer in the 70s when the city was nearly bankrupt and nothing was maintained and crime and vandalism reached surrealistic proportions. Everything, everything, everything was covered in graffiti, every inch of every train, the stations and even the souls of the riders. Gloomy time that lingers in the imagination, but it seems well and truly in the past – until it bubbles up again…

      Like

  4. 10% of the way there. That’s so cool!

    Like

    Trinity River

    09/11/2011 at 6:07 am

    • I’m a wee bit behind… but the weekend is coming and tomorrow I am taking an easy day… a bit of writing in the morning, some time with the bride-to-be and then some more writing… I am having a hellish work-week until then, though!

      Like

  5. Typing with closed eyes. That sounds very peaceful. I tried it and had my fingers on the wrong home keys so I spoke in tongues. Practice makes perfect.

    Like

    Trinity River

    09/11/2011 at 6:08 am

    • Indeed – funny, I didn’t really get to be a great typist until the last ten years or so… an ingrained fear of becoming an office worker – finally put to rest by the realisation that we ALL are office workers now…

      I like the suspension of time and the sense of free flow I get from typing with eyes closed… transferring thoughts to paper without the visual interference… you will like it once you reach a point of comfort…

      Like


Leave a Reply

