Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Karioitahi Beach

with 6 comments

OK – it has to be quick tonight – I was out at Karioitahi Beach a couple hours south of Auckland for most of the day. And whilst I love the beach and could shoot until I dropped, that’s pretty much exactly what I did – I am completely exhausted…

So – this slightly impressionist take on the surf at the end of the day. I stacked on the ND filters to increase the exposure time, which gives the waves that slightly dreamy, painterly effect.

And at the moment, it’s the final of the Rugby World Cup and the All Blacks are ahead of the French by one point with ten minutes to go in the match… I better go!

Woo hoo! An All Black victory! There’ll be dancing in the streets across the land tonight! But me, I’ll just go tuck myself in for a happy night’s sleep…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

23/10/2011 at 9:39 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YES! Go All Blacks! Well done, Mates! How to win in your very own country!

    Like

    souldipper

    24/10/2011 at 9:42 am

    • ‘Tis a truly marvellous thing… one of the nice things about a very small country is that something like this is a ‘win’ for everyone – not just rugby fans, because everyone is directly affected in some way. I live out in the bush – I can only see one other house from mine, but when the game ended I could hear cheering and shouting from places I didn’t even know there were houses hidden away…

      Like

  2. Looks a little like swimming in a latte froth. Warm and inviting….nice to enjoy when the chill moves in here.

    Like

    Happy Daze

    25/10/2011 at 12:06 am

    • It was actually rather cold and windy and the sort of day one might normally avoid… though it was glorious being there and in the moment!

      Like

  3. I love, love this. Pictures of a roaring surf appeal to my great love of the water. I also love the name of the beach. So much more intriguing than Virginia Beach, which says nothing other than you’re in Virginia, and this is a beach.

    Like

    poietes

    01/11/2011 at 7:45 am

    • Poor Virginia Beach… I love Maori words and the sound of spoken Maori, full of rhythm and repetition and a sort of internal musicality – very South Pacific.

      And yes, this ‘creamy’ surf is absolutely roaring – in the week since I was there 4 people have drowned in 2 separate incidences! Our west coast beaches are ferocious. (I live on the west cost, but on the harbour side, so my two local beaches are very very calm – no real waves…)

      Like


Leave a Reply

