Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Waiting for a ship

with 5 comments

I’ve waited for a lot of ships, in all kinds of ports and in all kinds of storms.

They do show up from time to time. I guess the important thing is to make sure  that… hmmm… what can you be sure of? That you have a ticket? That it’s carrying what you need? That you want to go where it’s going to take you???

I don’t really know, but I remember so clearly, staring out my bedroom window when I was 14 years old, staring at the blackness of a starless night sky and hoping my ship would come in. I didn’t know what was on it, where it came from or where it was going – but I was sure I would recognise it if it pulled up alongside my bedroom window. (Never mind the mountains and the cows and the rippling little creeks…)

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

21/09/2011 at 12:03 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think of the widow’s walk on those old captain’s houses by the sea. Imagine the women waiting for their beloved to come back after a year or two or more at sea. And what became of them if their husband perished at sea?
    We just got home from our cruise to Alaska and loved being on the water again. For sure on a cruise ship you want for nothing except sleep maybe or one more day to walk the promenade and enjoy the ocean view and sea breezes 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    21/09/2011 at 12:53 am

    • Oh, I do envy you (in the nicest possible way)! I love nothing better than being on a cruise ship! I am aching – it’s been nearly a year now, and I don’t have one booked in the near future. (Bobby and I are so mad about cruising, 4 years ago, we did 5 in one year!) Did the Alaskan weather cooperate???

      And – what DID those women do whose husbands never returned? (Starred in romance novels, probably…)

      Like

      • Hi Titirangi! The weather was lovely in Alaska again. Last time we were there in late July so took a chance traveling in September. Locals told us they’d had more inches of rain than days in early Sept., meaning they’d had 14 or 15 inches of rain in just 9 days. We brought back the sun again~! NCL caught us with a special pay ahead and get $100 so we’ll be on the Norwegian Gem next September on a US east coast cruise to leaf peep, eat lobster, and catch the lighthouses. Can’t wait. Come along 🙂

        Like

        Happy Daze

        28/09/2011 at 1:33 am

  2. The ships can take so many forms… Plus, Titi, you may have helped me find the answer to why I love hearing ships’ horns blasting through the fog. They suddenly appear without my having to wait.

    Like

    souldipper

    21/09/2011 at 9:18 am

    • I am always puzzled that I don’t hear more ships’ blasts where I am… there is a harbour not a mile from me, and while it’s not a major commercial harbour (that being on the east side of the isthmus and I am on the west) there are ships that pass through here reasonably often… and in winter there is no dearth of fog…

      Like


Leave a Reply

