Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Beam me up, Scotty!

with 6 comments

And with that – I am outta here!

No, no, not for good… but it’s been 300 days of posting an image and words every day. No matter how tired or busy I’ve been, I have stayed up until the photopo was finished and properly published, even when travelling.

It started as a way of learning Photoshop – I’d taken some courses, but nothing beats the day in and day using of something to learn its fine points and subtleties. I’ve really grown to love the programme as it’s let my imagination run loose and freed me from the limitations of traditional artists’ tools, which I never had the chance to learn. 300 images later I’m bloody good at and even get paid to use it.

I’ve also got back in the habit of writing poetry nearly every day.

But this has all come at the cost of 2-4 hours a day, 7 days a week. And I’m bloody tired. Time for a wee rest and a wee think and we’ll see where it goes when I get back…

Oh – and THIS photo, apart from the lettering and the purple frame added on, this is a completely unretouched photo. Yesterday’s was a long exposure looking down at the front of a ship before leaving port, this is a long exposure looking up and the navigation equipment, so the rotating blades sending and receiving transmissions look like they are solid. I’m good at photoshop – but I’m also a bloody good photographer…

See you soon.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

30/07/2011 at 10:58 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a great shot! Other than the obvious, I doubt I can tell what has been PS’d, but I’ve enjoyed both your photos and your text. Besides being able to see the beauty in the lines of a salt shaker, you have a wonderful imagination,Titi,

    I downloaded PS one time, tried to mess around and realized I needed a course. So I’m stuck with my (grossly mediocre) photos. I love a good photo that I know is untouched, but people who know PS do some marvelous things. Beauty is beauty…whatever the medium.

    And now you are heading around the corner. I take my hat off to you. There’s no way I would undertake a daily post.

    Like

    souldipper

    31/07/2011 at 9:08 am

    • Thank you, SoulDipper. I have really appreciated your support, too. I always look forward to your comments and thoughts.

      I doubt your photos are mediocre – and… a little known secret – Photoshop can’t fix bad photos – it can enhance things, hide things, create things – but it’s just a tool. And the most complicated piece of software I have ever used.

      As for my turning a corner – I have so many other projects I want to pursue and that I will probably blog about. And I am sure I’ll continue with Photopo, just not every day. No matter how passionate we are about anything we only have a limited amount of time. So between the business and business related projects, getting a book my husband his written published, working on a book of light stories with a friend and various other photography projects, not to mention a half-finished novel of my own – there is so much to do. (Oh yeah, I’ve got a very small run on my own of picture poems, just to see if there is any interest out there… or to give away as Christmas gifts…)

      Yeah, maybe I’ll do Post-a-Week!

      Like

  2. great photo. it looks like you really could get beamed up.

    Like

    Trinity River

    01/08/2011 at 5:39 am

  3. What a great shot. I really love the composition.

    I can understand how you might be tired from all of the photopo. I would never presume that it’s an easy undertaking. Quite the contrary: visual and word creation? Each day? Every day? You’ve done a wonderful job, and I’ve loved being along for the ride.

    Like

    poietes

    10/08/2011 at 11:10 am

    • Thanks… but as you may have noticed, I can’t stop. It was the oddest sensation – a combination of losing a job, my best friend moving away, finding out my cat was ill, and losing my favourite gloves… Yuck!

      Like


Leave a Reply

