Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Notre Dame de Paris

with 4 comments

There were so many articles of wonder and amazement. But this was the thing that caught me by surprise. I hadn’t expected it.  Less than half a metre wide, at the base of a statue of some forgotten saint… Made me wonder about the designer and the artisan and the people in the town immortalised in stone.

Every surface can be a canvas.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

27/07/2011 at 11:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There you go again, Titi – Mistress of Intrigue! I missed this completely as I allowed myself to be dazzled by the stained glass windows! Thank goodness you caught it! That could be a great story!

    Like

    souldipper

    28/07/2011 at 6:45 am

  2. Thank you, Ms Dipper! Funny thing – I became so rapt in all the tiny details and little surprises, I didn’t take a single proper photo of Notre Dame at all… Seriously, there were hundreds if not thousands of small artworks tucked away or completely overshadowed everywhere I looked. No concept of negative space or clean lines here!

    Like

  3. Wow, I’ve never seen Notre Dame, and I would probably be among the many who did not notice the fine details at the base of all the statues. The detail in your photograph is breathtaking. Imagine carving that . . .

    Like

    poietes

    10/08/2011 at 11:16 am

    • I just looked it up in Wikipedia and construction began in 1160 and was finally completed in 1345 – 185 years to build. (Never mind that preservation work would have begun immediately following completion!)

      And most of us will spend a couple of hours going through it, trying to see as much as we possibly can. I am always in awe of folks who can remember what they have seen when they do that kind of seeing – I just get overwhelmed. Cases of jewellery are just that, cases of jewellery, I’m very unlikely to recall even one piece, no matter how spectacular. The same goes for paintings. Even ice cream tasting – if I taste more than 2-3 flavours, I couldn’t tell you which one I liked best…

      Which is why I learned to eschew the whole turkey in favour of a slice or two I can manage. And I might go back for seconds… or thirds… and I could even get obsessed and devour the entire bird – over a period of time…

      But yeah… it would be a shame to miss this. There are billions of photographs of the flying buttresses and rose windows…

      Like


Leave a Reply

