Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

The Concrete Jungle

with 4 comments

Echoes of those who came before… I spotted this frieze on an archway over the entrance to a building built in the 30s or 40s walking around lower Manhattan. There was a tonne of construction going on and the pedestrian walkway was eye level with the frieze – obscuring it with heavy fencing and other barriers. But I spotted it – much to the chagrin of my companion who shrugged and sighed and declared I took far too many photos of things I would not be the least bit interested in once I got home. (She was wrong.)

And I deeply, deeply appreciate, admire and respect the sense of humour of whomever authorised this whimsical little masterpiece.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

26/07/2011 at 12:38 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great picture. That’s the kind of jungle I love to be in. I love going to the country occasionally, but the Cities are what really blows my skirt up 😉

    Like

    Trinity River

    26/07/2011 at 1:35 am

    • Thanks… I like both kinds of jungle… I definitely fell in love with the country more when I got heavily into photography… In the greaat cities it can be hard to photograph these days – you pull out a big camera and people think you are a terrorist… ?!?
      I’m due for a trip to NYC though… it’s been over 2 years and is turning to an ache… plus I need new clothes and there is no point in doing serious shopping anywhere else. Really!

      Like

  2. I envy your eye. I truly do. You always manage to find the hidden beauty that most others would walk by without a second glance. This frieze is amazing and whimsical.

    Whenever I find myself in one of those enmeshed walkways fronting construction, I become claustrophobic and walk very quickly, never looking at the sides, so I would not have seen this.

    Like

    poietes

    10/08/2011 at 11:19 am

    • Sometimes it’s a bit of a handicap. I can move so very slowly through museums or galleries, rapt in one object or piece of art for a very long time, exploring all the little nooks and crannies… To me, they are all there to be explored as part of the whole thing – and are maybe more important than what you see at first. They tell the deeper story… On the other hand, I do love it when I go to something with someone who is willing to indulge me, come along for the ride – because enjoying it as two is even more fun!

      Like


Leave a Reply

