Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Grunting Rhinos

with 6 comments

I rather like this photo of these two, but something just didn’t sit right… So I had a bit of a think – what did it need? What was missing?

And then it hit me – the rhinos are not doing anything anthromorphic, nothing funny, warm, endearing or for that matter, disgusting or horrifying. They don’t make me think of anything other than rhinos with their heads on the ground, grazing. There was the occasional snort, but no terrifying blast. No mad charge. No nuzzling each other – the way I seem to like my animals to be… silly me…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

13/07/2011 at 12:11 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brilliant! Love the reminder to love them just as they are.

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    13/07/2011 at 12:16 am

    • Thank you, Ms Pink!

      I think in the end the anthropomorphic thing about them is not so much what they do that is like people, but that some people seem determined to be like them. And we have to love them as they are, too!

      Like

  2. Yes, and may all creatures be given the same consideration, TS!

    Like

    souldipper

    13/07/2011 at 5:39 am

  3. I like my animals to have character, which is probably why I just don’t take to rhinos. Hippos are funny. Elephants are talented, but rhinos?

    Like

    poietes

    23/07/2011 at 9:08 am


Leave a Reply

