Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Breathless & Purple

with 6 comments

Listen – I don’t read pulp romances, there’s not a single Mills & Boon or Harlequin Romance to be found in my house. But obviously, somewhere in my deepest darkest, most ignored and reviled corner of my heart there lies a pen with proclivities to purple prose. There’s nothing I can do about it. Really, I’ve tried. And just when I think I’ve got rid of it at last – it scribbles something off, for all the world to see. I am so ashamed…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

09/07/2011 at 1:02 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey! Purple prose are great. Never be ashamed of a gift! That picture is hilarious. Love the white flip flops with the lace dress. So campy.

    Like

    Trinity River

    09/07/2011 at 1:12 am

  2. Thank you… she put these on after the ceremony and photos were done… that kind of gal…

    Like

  3. Yowserrrrsss! Love it! Have to step outside into the cool night so I will be able to get to sleep! 😀 Love the photo, Titi. (how many different names have I used so far?! )

    Like

    souldipper

    09/07/2011 at 7:22 pm

    • Well – I guess it did it’s job then! Ha ha…
      Not sure how many names you’ve come up with… I suppose I might object to being called Tits… though the name does cry out for schoolboy humour… The village of Titirangi is known affectionately as Titters in these parts, so … go for it!

      Like

  4. Ah yes, the flip flops and the lace. Quite a combination.

    Purple prose has its moments. and as long as we are sharing, I will admit to having read one “historical” romance because my best friend at the time convinced me that it was different. I think that it was called Through a Glass Darkly, or something like that, and I actually found myself drawn into the story.

    Like

    poietes

    10/07/2011 at 11:56 am

    • When I was very young I used to alternate one classic with one piece of trash, which is how I got to read the Carpetbaggers, Valley of the Dolls, The Other Side of Midnight and a half dozen Robert Ludlum thrillers. In retrospect, they did no harm as they did not interfere with the classical reading programme I had set for myself… I stopped reading them when I realised that even while I was reading (and enjoying them) there was no substance, nothing stuck and the real reason, I couldn’t remember what was happening in any of them from day to day reading…
      I have a copy of Victoria Holt’s “Night of the 7th Moon’ downstairs that I found at a tag sale some years ago – I think it was the first trashy novel I read… I’ve been meaning to re-read it – “one of these days…”

      Like


Leave a Reply

