Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

If you can’t stand the heat…

with 6 comments

Penang, Malaysia. 8PM. The night had cooled to a balmy 30 degrees (ca 90F) and we ventured out in search of supper, somewhere the locals eat, authentic food, an authentic experience.

Yeah, there I sat at my white plastic table, soaking up the noisy, fluorescent-lit ambience – fanning myself, sipping an ice cold Tiger Beer, nibbling on some crisp cucumbers and melon, waiting on my food, watching this guy cook over ferociously hot open coals. Who was I kidding? HE was the one having an authentic experience! I was just watching.

I couldn’t help noticing how the look on his face is extreme, he is struggling with the heat; but look at his towel – if that were me, I’d have sweat through it hours ago. My brow would be dripping. I’d be guzzling water, maybe breathing a bit hard.  I’d last maybe ten minutes. Who knows how many hours he puts in every night?

Those were the most amazing chicken satays I’ve ever tasted. Peanut sauce to die for!

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

24/05/2011 at 1:22 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yuuummmm! Blessings on him and all his family!

    Like

    souldipper

    24/05/2011 at 10:34 am

  2. Satay…yum!! Thank God someone can cook it. If I had to do that I’d be down for the count inside of 5 minutes.

    Like

    Trinity River

    26/05/2011 at 6:03 am

    • I am endlessly amazed at short-order cooks all over the world – the heat, the pressure, the endless repetition. I would not survive – either doing it and maybe even if they didn’t!

      Like

  3. Making me hungry–satay and peanut sauce. Yum.

    I was always amazed by how little my father perspired, but as he was Filipino, it shouldn’t have surprised me.

    Like

    poietes

    30/05/2011 at 11:14 am

    • yeah, you can always spot a visitor in the tropics – it’s not their dress or the shape of their eyes or the colour of their skin – the Asian tropics are remarkably multicultural. It’s how much they are sweating, how much water they are guzzling, how they fight or cope with the heat. The locals are cool with the heat…

      Like


Leave a Reply

