Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Indonesian Monkey Business

with 4 comments

Surprise, surprise! My Indonesian jungle photos are not as bad as I thought. Sure, it would be nice if this were crisp and clean, but I think this world-weary Thomas Leaf monkey comes across quite well, don’t you think? Considering I walked a couple of hours into the jungle to find him, this makes me happy. While he appears to be close up, he is, in fact 25-30 metres way up a tall, tall tree, and once again I was fumbling with my 300mm lens.

He was perched up there quite a while, watching us and then suddenly decided to be on his way, dropping a rather alarming bit of business a few feet from where I stood as he departed!

It was a 3-hour ride to the National Park, over narrow, barely 2 lane roads. We only travelled 80 kms (50 miles) from Medan, but the 24/7 traffic jam in the city and the potholes and adolesents on motorbikes outside made it slow going. Our driver was “safe” inasmuch as he seemed in remarkable control, but insane, he was tail-gating cars and motorbikes by inches, leaving me holding my breath.

I’ve put together a wee slide show of some of what I saw… Teenagers there all have cellphones and spend much of their time texting – even whilst on a motorbike! Can you spot the internet cafe? Hint – the Facebook and Twitter logos give it away… The grey wall is the view outside our window – directly across – less than two metres! The crazed man in the hotel is my husband – getting ready to head to much saner Malaysia… Still, it was a good day…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You certainly do go to any length to get a photo of a monkey!! 😀

    Like

    souldipper

    21/05/2011 at 4:44 am

  2. Love the slideshow, especially the one that includes a rim store in juxtaposition to the handcart, such an anomaly, but I suppose rims are a status symbol worldwide. The Internet cafe is smashing.

    To what did those huge claws belong? The Komodo?

    Good job avoiding monkey poop for a great shot.

    Like

    poietes

    22/05/2011 at 6:28 am

    • Thank you, Lita… Yes the claws belong to the Komodo – they were amazing! The guides kept telling me not to get too close! It was one of those intensely gruelling, but equally fascinating day…

      Like


Leave a Reply

