Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Remnants

with 11 comments

My neighbours are probably wondering about me about now. I’ve lived in my house over six years now quite discreetly – going for an evening constitutional and the like. But lately I’ve been wandering around with my camera, taking photos of things that may not ordinarily seem of interest. Not quite sure why, but I think since I’ve been nesting the last while I am looking more inward than outward.

I love this old garage just down the street. I am sure that when it was built it was to house several horses and a carriage. Back then the area was so sparsely settled, it has a lovely view of the harbour…

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

08/04/2011 at 10:36 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love old buildings like that. It would make a great artist studio or a band house

    Like

    Trinity River

    09/04/2011 at 1:06 am

    • True – though I would rather hate having a band house so close to mine! As it is, I really loathe the sound of chain saws and lawn mowers – why do people move into the bush and then clear the trees and put in lawns??? Then it’s just like any ordinary suburban area… uh oh… it’s Saturday morning and my neighbours (whom I quite like) are remodeling their house…. this can not be done quietly…)

      Like

      • These are the same people who buy beautiful houses and then spend all their time in the basement. I don’t care how “finished” it is, it is still the basement.

        Like

        Monica McLaughlin

        09/04/2011 at 11:56 am

      • That’s because for some reason we believe we need to put our fun stuff in the basement – or out of view … so the big TV, the computer, the exercise equipment – all go into the basement (or rec room or whatever you call it…) so the lounge, with the gorgeous furniture and light and airy hardly gets used… It should be the other way around.
        I am lucky enough to have 2 lounges (but no basement)… one is gorgeous, light and airy – the other has the TV on the wall and amazing sound, plus exercise equipment and library and cosy furniture. Where do I spend my time? (At least it has a balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the bush…)

        Like

  2. Have you tried quietly leaning against one of those old buildings to see what you pick up? It’s amazing.

    Like

    souldipper

    09/04/2011 at 7:44 am

  3. I love, love this old building. Corey is quite accommodating in stopping by the side of the road so that I can take pictures of old buildings. I would love to have this one as my writing studio.

    But I agree on the obnoxious noises of chain saws. They absolutely grate.

    Like

    poietes

    12/04/2011 at 10:09 am

    • I am so thoroughly enjoying being at home during the day Monday through Friday – it is so calm and quiet out there… nothing but tuis and wood pigeons black robins annoying me… Let them annoy away!

      Like


Leave a Reply

