Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Before the Storm

with 8 comments

I found Aruba to be a rather odd sort of place. The climate/environment seemed a cross between Florida and Arizona – beaches and cactus, hot dry winds and afternoon thunderstorms.

It’s a Dutch possession and its main commercial area is a candy floss faux Amsterdam, sans the canals. Actually it’s sans anything Dutch, but bustling with Benihanas and Hooters and Walmarts and various American designer and discount shops catering for the largely American holiday-makers. It seems most of the prime real estate has gone to developers building luxury gated resorts and expansive seaside golf courses. Very home-away-from-home, I guess – but to be honest, not my cup of tea.

Still, as a one day port on a cruise ship, we enjoyed ourselves. The locals are very welcoming and we had a brilliant lunch at a place called Iguana Joe’s Caribbean Bar & Grill. My husband still talks about those ribs.

This is the California lighthouse, named for the ship California that sunk in its waters two years prior to it being built in 1910. It’s on the northwest tip of the island – the best place to watch the storm roll in.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

26/03/2011 at 9:02 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve always wanted to go to Aruba, but I have Walmart & Hooters and such right here at home, so I’m going to pick another island to dream about.

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    27/03/2011 at 2:37 am

    • I am completely unfamiliar with the Caribbean other than my one day in Aruba, so I can not possibly recommend anything. But if you want to pop over to the other side of the world – Vanuatu comes up very high on my list. And I am dying to go to Rarotonga – apparently its primary attraction is there is nothing there – no tourist attractions, no shopping malls, just endless beaches and bush and total escape… Fiji’s outer islands are breathtaking, but the main island, Viti Levu, can be pretty awful. Visitors are targeted by endless scam artists and pickpockets – I wouldn’t go back there unless I was with a Fijian friend…

      End of island lesson for today?!? Ha ha!

      Like

  2. I love watching storms roll in.

    Like

    Trinity River

    27/03/2011 at 5:45 am

    • Back when I lived in Rochester NY, we had a porch swing and there was nothing better than sitting our there watching a really violent thunderstorm… Don’t miss much about Rochester (other than my friends), but I do miss that.

      Like

  3. Lighthouses are so intriguing. Does everyone want to live in one? I used to dream about it as a girl on the prairies when I’d watch a storm coming for miles. Maybe I had a bit of the same thrill as a lighthouse keeper – with terra firma forever.

    Like

    Amy @ Soul Dipper

    27/03/2011 at 6:04 am

    • I think they’ve become a bit less romantic as the steps have become harder to climb… Of course, once up there, you might never want to come down…

      Like

  4. When I was married to my ex, and before Aruba became so developed, we used to talk about moving there and raising our babies, letting them run around naked in the sand and get brown. We never went. Once we split, he bought a time share there and goes there every year. Such an ass.

    Don’t think I’ll ever be going to Aruba. Love lighthouses though.

    Like

    poietes

    04/04/2011 at 7:05 am

    • I don’t think you’d care for it much if you happened to wake up there one sunny morning. It made me feel kind of sad, actually. And now even sadder… He must have really carried a torch for that dream though…

      Perhaps it would do as a one day port on a Caribbean cruise – put it to sleep

      Like


Leave a Reply

