Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

South Island Oyster Catcher

with 4 comments

Titirangi Beach is just down the hill from me. From time to time I like to take my long lens and go spy on the birdlife. I don’t think I’ve run into one of these before. There were three of them there, happily feasting on our local delicacies. However, they were insistent on presenting their hind quarters – and the closer I got, the less they would cooperate. A little myopic, but lovely little sea birds.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

15/03/2011 at 12:12 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A lovely little bird, indeed. I love how vibrant and oversized his/her beak is. Perfect for snatching up the sea delicacies. Nature is grand!

    Like

    pinkunderbelly

    15/03/2011 at 12:25 am

  2. Amazing that these little guys can do what they do to feast and flourish!

    Like

    souldipper

    15/03/2011 at 10:59 am

    • And they do feast and flourish! I did a wee bit of reading on them for this post and learned that on the endangered species list in NZ – they are of “Least Concern!” I really like that…

      Like


Leave a Reply

