Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Fading Away

with 6 comments

I like taking photos from the bus – I can spy and be gone before anyone knows… This man captured my imagination… Yes, the people with the hard luck stories and lives that weren’t picture-book pretty always catch my eye. I’m sure he had an ordinary life… he does not look broken… and yet I wonder if maybe he had wanted more.

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

29/01/2011 at 11:23 pm

Posted in Writing

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this…makes one look beyond the surface and explore within. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you… I quite like it myself and was kind of surprised no one commented… nice to know you see the same thing I saw.

      Like

  2. This is an exquisite photo…it invites a soul-deep curiosity. I look at the hands and wonder at the tenderness and comfort they have given. They are hands that reach to give, not to take.

    I have a photo of a father – taken out of a bus in a South Africa ghetto. He saw my lens through the window…his expression haunts me. His face took me to Kiva – the one way of helping that I trust.

    Thank you, Titirangi.

    Like

    souldipper

    22/02/2011 at 9:29 am

    • Thank you. It really brings me joy that you appreciated this photo. I was confused that it initially received no responses – not pretty I suppose… but it’s nice to know it has a bit of resonance…

      Like

  3. Kolembo told me about this post. Very powerful. Glad to have discovered you through him.

    Like

    liv2write2day

    22/02/2011 at 3:49 pm


Leave a Reply

