Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

Rainy daydream

with 6 comments

Rainy daydream

Back on the bus. Bored. Barely breathing. Air so cold and heavy – wet velvet on my lungs.

Beyond the spattered windowpane I spy him – spy on him – standing at the cash machine, hunched over in oversized rain gear, getting money for tonight – for Friday night. Big night. Plans. Dreams. Rainy daydreams. Rubbish.

Me –

I’m suffering from Prolonged Transition Trauma. My sense of the surreal is dwarfed by irony and sarcasm and drenched in the fear that it will never ever end. I’ve entered Dante’s first circle of hell. Or maybe it’s Sister Mary Josephine’s depiction of Purgatory. Whose sins I am being called to atone?

I thought this was a mistake. Shows how wrong you can be.

They walked into my shot to escape the hail

Written by Titirangi Storyteller

30/08/2010 at 9:37 pm

Posted in Writing

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My sense of the surreal is dwarfed by irony and sarcasm and drenched in the fear that it will never ever end. I’ve entered Dante’s first circle of hell. Or maybe it’s Sister Mary Josephine’s depiction of Purgatory. Whose sins I am being called to atone?

    Wow. Wish I had written that.

    Like

    poietes

    05/09/2010 at 1:41 pm

    • Thank you… I am honoured… You’ve written equal and better time and time again…

      Sigh… I’ve been so self absorbed in 3d work these days I haven’t had much time for blogging. But I expect that to change by the end of the month! Fingers crossed.

      Like

  2. I love how the flow of your words carries us down the picture and into the punchline picture….the ones seeking shelter from the storm. Keep doing more…maybe this is the link for the triptograph series? Words linking picutres? Such an undertaking so maybe just one a week? As you can tell I’m a great armchair coach! 🙂

    Like

    Happy Daze

    27/10/2011 at 12:57 am

    • Thanks… it was a hard one to revisit, a rather difficult time, knowing I was going to be leaving my job soon and heading off into the great unknown. I think this indicates I had a bit more anger in me than I was willing to admit at the time. And a bit of resentment… par for the course. Overall, I think they are rather a diary…

      As for what comes next – it may very well be one a week of something… I am going to do the NaNoWriMo – national novel-writing month. It’s been more than ten years since I wrote my last novel and I have been thinking about writing another one for so long and putting it off… I am ferociously busy – but I am the sort of person that only ever gets things done when I am busy. If I have lots of time, I procrastinate and waste my time and get nothing done… Can a squeeze a (short) novel into one month???

      Like

      • How’s the writing challenge going? A short novel in a month? GOODness~! If you set the goal you’re bound to make it. And of course I’d love to be a reader 🙂

        Like

        Happy Daze

        15/11/2011 at 12:48 am

      • It is coming, as I mentioned on another post. Strange though how even if I am short of time, I do the picture first. Hmmm… I am afraid I am not going to make 50k words… but who knows…

        Like


Leave a Reply

