Titirangi Storyteller

Telling tales from around the world

In honour of friendship

with 4 comments

You know who you are – the people who send me those cute and kitschy hugging kitten and adorable puppy emails – telling me how special I am and how much you love me. I know, I know, you can’t help it, they are just so cute and you know they’ll make me smile… Okay – I used to get a bit huffy and wonder what sort of taste you thought I had that such sweetness would be my thing. I’m over that. Yes, I open them and read and even smile from time to time. I’d rather have you think of me fondly than not think of me at all. So really, it’s all good.

Except… I received three (count them, yes three PowerPoint shows sharing F R I E N D S H I P W E E K with me, this last week of January. In an effort to get all these declarations of undying affection, goodwill and warmth to manageable levels, I did a little research. Here is what I learned:

  • National Friendship Day is on the first Sunday in August.
  • Women’s Friendship Day is on the third Sunday in August
  • International Friendship Month is February
  • Old Friends, New Friends Week is the third week of May
  • There is NO Friendship week.

    Therefore – there is no reason to go around declaring your undying friendship to your friends in the last week of January. It steals the thunder from the impending International Friendship Month which commences on Monday the 1st of February.

    During February, you will be permitted to acknowledge international friendships only – any domestic or same-nationality friendships will be celebrated on National Friendship Day the 1st Sunday in August.

    The 3rd week of May is Old Friends, New Friends Week – you may acknowledge old or new friends, regardless of sex or nationality. However, you may not acknowledge those you have been friends with for more than one year, but less than 10 (7 for those under 30.)

    Women may acknowledge their friendships with either men or women on National Women’s Friendship Day, the 3rd Sunday in August. Men – please be advised that as it is Women’s friendship day, you must wait for acknowledgement from a women – you may NOT initiate acknowledgement on your own and you should not, for any reason, engage in acknowledgement or celebration of your friendships with other men. Attempts by men to initiate acknowledgements will be viewed as signs of aggressive male behaviour. Men-men friendship acknowledgement will be recognised as yet another male attempt to usurp the little recognition paid to women in our culture and will not be tolerated.

    I do hope I have clarified and cleared up any confusion and misplaced, misguided sentiment instigated by these well-meaning emails. For whose who are easily confused, I suggest they print and laminate the appropriate recognition dates as above and hang by your computer both at the office and at home.

    Kind regards (a friendly, but not friendship acknowledging closure),

    The Titirangi Storyteller

    Written by Titirangi Storyteller

    30/01/2010 at 3:55 pm

    4 Responses

    Subscribe to comments with RSS.

    1. Awwww . . . yes, I know exactly of what you speak. If I see another cute dog picture, I will scream! Unless, of course, it is a photo of one of my own little darlings!

      Like

      Monica McLaughlin

      30/01/2010 at 4:20 pm

    2. […] The rest is here:  In honour of friendship « Titirangi Storyteller […]

      Like

    3. […] time back I wrote a piece on friendship and those kitschy, gushing emails drenched in puppies and kitties and pastels that end up in my […]

      Like

    4. hey I am just using this picture on a project for uni is that ok? I have given you credit for sure incredible work, what is the place you created this at like USA, Australia etc?

      Like

      Kristen Batdorf

      02/09/2011 at 12:53 pm


    Leave a Reply

